News

First day of classes will be on Tuesday, September 8, 2015.

Tuesday, Sept 1 –Fri, Sept 4, 2015

Admin Days-Teachers Only

  

Mon, September 7, 2015

Labor Day –No School

Tues, September 8, 2015

First day of classes K-12, Registration Day, BBQ at 11:00am

Thurs, October 1, 2015

Treaty Day-No School

Mon, October 12, 2015

Thanksgiving, No School

Wed, November 11, 2015

Remembrance Day- No School

Fri, November 13, 2015

First Term Ends

Mon, November 16, 2015

Second Term Begins

Tues, November 24, 2015

Report Cards

Thurs, November 26, 2015

Parent Teacher- Dismiss at 12:30 pm

Fri, December 18, 2015

Last Day Before Xmas Break

Mon, January 4, 2016

First Day Back From Xmas Break

Mon, January 25, 2016

Exams Begin

Fri, January 29,2016

Exam Make up Day-Marking Day

Mon, Feb 1, 2016

2nd Term Ends/ First Semester Ends

Tues, Feb 2, 2016

3rd Term Begins/ Second Semester Begins

Tues, Feb 9, 2016

Report Cards

Thurs, Feb 11, 2016

Parent Teacher-Dismiss at 12:30pm

Mon, February 15, 2015

NS Family Day-No School

Mon, March 14 to Fri, March 18

March Break- No school

Mon, March 21,2016

First Day Back from March Break

Fri, March 25, 2016

Good Friday-No School

Mon, March 28, 2016

Easter Monday, No School

Fri, April 15, 2016

3rd Term Ends

Mon, April 18,2016

4th Term Begins

Tues, April 26, 2016

Report Cards

Thurs, April 28, 2016

Parent Teacher-Dismiss at 12:30 pm

Mon, May 23,2016

Victoria Day-No School

Mon, June 13, 2016

Exams Begin

Tues, June 21, 2016

Aboriginal Day-No School

Mon, June 20, 2016

Grade 12 Graduation

Fri, June 24, 2016

Last Day of School/ Grading Day

Boxing Registration

 

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

 

Starting at 5pm

 

Wagmatcookewey School Gym

 

Open to students in Grades 6 and up

 

Hosted by Barry Bernard

and Evan Googoo

Kindergarten Orientation
Friday, June 5, 2015 
 
Kindergarten Orientation will be for children who will be enrolling in the K4 program for the academic school year 2015-2016.  Children who are 3 years of age who will be turning 4 by December 31, 2015 are eligible to register.  Parents or guardians will be responsible for transporting their children to school.   Lunch will be served.  If your child has an allergy please call the school for notification before June 5.  Orientation will be from 9 to 12pm.  
 
There will be no school for K4 groups who are presently enrolled on this day.  For more information call the school at 902 295-3491 or 902 295-1757 or 902 295 3009.
 
Wela'lioq,
Marjorie Pierro   
Friday, May 1- No classes for all students due to Parent Teacher Interviews from 9 to 12 pm and Professional Development in the afternoon for all staff.  There will be 3 grocery draws.   
 
Friday, May 8- No classes for all students due to Suicide Prevention Training for all staff.
 
Sunday, June 14- First Holy Communion at Queen of the World Church in Wagmatcook during  11am service.  
 
Thursday, October 29- Confirmation for students in grades 9, 10, 11 and 12 at Queen of the World Church in Wagmatcook.  Time of service will be announced over the summer.    
 

  
Marjorie Pierro
Principal

This is a school competition in which students track and enter their personal information (healthy eating, water consumption, sleep, etc.)
If anyone needs any help registering, they can contact Jamie White @ 902-295-3491.

Please register at,
http://www.60minkidsclub.org

HOME WORK

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

 

 

Grade 3

Cathy

Language Arts

Fred/Ann

Math

James

Science

Wayne

Social Studies

 

Grade 4

Wayne

Social Studies

Cathy

Language Arts

Fred

Math

James

Science

 

 

Grade 5

James

Science

Wayne

Social Studies

Cathy

Language Arts

Brent

Math

 

 

Grade 6

Fred/Ann

Math

James

Science

Wayne

Social Studies

Cathy

Language Arts

 

 

Team Teaching Grades 3 to 6

 

April 2015.

 

On January 12, 2015, the grade three, four, five and six teachers at Wagmatcookewey  School started team teaching.  Team teaching means that each teacher teaches one or two specific subjects to different classes.  The team teaching provides consistency and continuity for the students, as well as an exposure to different teaching techniques and styles.  The teacher also gets an overview of what skills are taught in each specific subject and what skills need to be improved, as the student progresses in school.  Each week the team teachers meet to share ideas and discuss the children’s progress, often discussing ways to help individual children.

 

Cathy Cooper has grade 3 homeroom and she teaches grade 3 to 6 Language Arts and levels H to M in Guided Reading.  James Young has grade 4 homeroom and he teaches, Grade 3 to 6 Science, Computer Tech and levels M to S in Guided Reading. Wayne Morris has grade 5 homeroom and he teaches Grades 3 to 6 Health, Social Studies and levels Y to Z in Guided Reading.  Fred Matthews has grade 6 homeroom and he teaches grades 3,4 and 6 Math, as well as levels S to W in Guided Reading.  Corinne Phillips teaches levels A to H in Guided Reading.  Ann Peck teaches grades 3 to 6 Art, Religion and Grade 6 Math resource.  Louise Simon teaches grades 3 to 6 Mi’kmaqLanguage and Culture.  Brent Nicholson teaches Grade 5 Math. Jamie White continues to teach grades 3 to 6 Physical Education.

 

Homework is assigned each night from Monday to Thursday in different subjects. A list of homework assigned each night is attached to the back of this note. Homework is expected to be completed and passed into the teacher the next day.  All homework is a repeat of work completed in class.Please make sure your child’s homework is completed each day, as homework is counted as part of the overall marks of the students.

 

The teachers feel positive about team teaching and how it is benefitting all the students involved.  If you have any questions or concerns or have any ideas and suggestions for team teaching, please feel to contact us at the school.

Georgina won a $2000 Bursary for StFX U at the Regional Science Fair at LSK for her project ' Why Do Apple Slices Turn Brown After Being Cut'.

 

Pages

Subscribe to News